Curmudgeonly?

I fear I may have become a curmudgeon or something akin to it.

It seems that every time I turn around I’m hearing that people like me don’t get to have our own viewpoints because we’re not some other kind of people. We’re “privileged” and so unknowingly racist, sexist, or some other istΒ β€” the “ism schism game” of which Marley sang.

Admittedly, mine is an exceptional case, but I’ve been fired for my race and my sexual orientation, and been denied jobs because of my race and (lack of) religious beliefs. I was forced to house my family in a 20+ year old travel trailer and live in poverty because I couldn’t bag a job that would pay enough to live in any other condition despite being at least as skilled in my field as those who were then employed at much higher wages than I. This is privilege? If so, I don’t want any part of it!

If you could see you through my eyes instead of your ego, I believe, you’d be surprised to see, that you’ve been blind…

… so unless you’ve lived a life of total perfection you’d better be careful of every stone that you should throw.

I’ve had enough of ism schisms. They’re the propaganda that’s been used to keep us focused on each other rather than those who oppress us all, and speaking for myself and for Amethyst I can say that we don’t buy into any of it at all. If you don’t know where our shoes have been, shut the fuck up about what you think you know about us. Period. If you think you know that we are this or that because we’re white, or heterosexual, or not living in poverty today, or any other externally observable characteristic of our lives, you are fucking well wrong. Period.

It appears that this post somehow made it to published status before I was done with it. WTF? Eh, no matter. I’m just ranting anyway. The point being that I’ve had it up to above my hair with the bullshit. Tell me that I cannot appreciate this or that way of being because I’ve not been it, and I’m going to be offended every god damned time because I can appreciate it even if I’ve not lived it. I’ve been in poverty. I’ve been harassed by the pigs every damned time I turned around. I’ve been fired or denied a job because of my race and/or sexual orientation and/or religion (or lack thereof). What part of my experience makes it different from your similar experiences?

20 thoughts on “Curmudgeonly?

  1. LAMarcom

    Reblogged this on Texan Tales & Hieroglyphics and commented:
    Well…. With some sorrow, I don’t think I could have said this better. Of course, I am lazy, so I did not even try. Oh, and some kid in the US Nav once told me I had no right to listen to Uncle Bob, (as I called him) because I was not black. Now, what the hell does that mean? I was listening to Bob before this kid was in disposable diapers… I mean, come on!
    For Fuck’s Sake.
    Thank You Heathen.
    We all need to take one step back from racism in our country.
    Honestly.

    Reply
    1. LAMarcom

      OH shit! Heathen! I reblogged your post without your permission. My bad.
      Generally, I ask first.
      Again, my bad.
      Forgive me?
      If not, I will delete it.
      Doan want the PC police at yer door…doncha know?
      Peace Out My Friend.

      Reply
      1. happierheathen Post author

        I don’t mind at all, man. If you want to repost my shit, repost it. If you want to call me names for thinking the way I do, then call me names. It’s all good, man.

        Reply
            1. happierheathen Post author

              Nah, just you, you racist, sexist, misogynist, and whatever other kind of ignorant motherfucker you are. I communicates just fine, m’seff. πŸ˜€

              But, seriously now, at ease and carry one, m’fren. πŸ™‚

              Reply
              1. LAMarcom

                Yup. Guilty. C’est moi (Now you may call me ‘faggot’ for speaking Francais)….but then, you know I dun been marr’d four times (last count) so doubtful I am gay… Things one does learn on this he’ah Internet…

                Reply
                1. happierheathen Post author

                  Oh, hell, man, I’ve been married four times m’sef and may yet turn out to be queer. I don’t expect it, but then who ever does? πŸ˜€

                  On the other hand, my second ex is Texican and so is my current father-in-law, so maybe I’m straight or very successfully deluding myself. Last I heard, the only thing Texas ever did with fags was elect them president. πŸ˜€

                  Reply
                    1. happierheathen Post author

                      Nah, man, I ain’t into that shit. πŸ˜€

                      I probably should’ve specified that it’s in the 21st century that Texas elects fags president. Lyndon BJ was okay in spite of his unfortunate initials.

                      Not that I’d mind a queer president, so long as he or she was open about it. It’s the sneaky fuckers who can’t be trusted, like, well, everyone in the oval orifice since 1969 with the lone exception of Jimmy Carter.

  2. ordinarybutloud

    Privilege — in the term-of-art sense — has been a helpful way for me to think about racism and other kinds of isms, although I think it’s only helpful as a guide for discussion or a metaphor for thinking about other people. It isn’t helpful as a concrete way to evaluate or categorize an individual person. When someone uses it that way, as a one-off, dismissive label, it’s divisive. When someone uses it to shut you down, it’s just rude.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      As they say: “Yeah, that”. πŸ™‚ The trouble comes when the term of art becomes widely perceived as the essence of truth… obviously enough, I suppose. It’s the current ubiquity of that phenomenon that’s got under my skin. Greenpeace accepts my support and even sends me bumper stickers without ever asking if I’m a whale, y’know?

      Reply
    2. LAMarcom

      “Just rude.”
      Yes, I concur and as a Texan, I just hate rude behavior. I do believe there was something in “Lonesome Dove” piercing eloquent about this:

      Reply
  3. promisesunshine

    it’s like we do everything. no middle ground ever. the problem with this is that compromise and understanding happen in the middle ground; a lesson humanity seems incapable of learning.

    Reply
  4. lauramacky

    Hey welcome back. I see you have a new blog. Did you know you need to tag it to show in the reader? 1<=15 tags makes it appear in the reader. It's the only way I read blogs anymore because I had way too many links lol.

    Reply
  5. whyzat

    Maybe there should be a Curmudgeon political party. Or it could also be called the Grouchy Skeptics Party. I like that and would join at once!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

