Another Day In Paradise

For the few minutes I was there, I was the only customer at the pot shop in Ski Town today. I’ve never seen that before. It was novel, and getting in and out quickly was convenient, but I like chatting with the locals and people-watching the tourists so it was a bit of a disappointment, too. I wouldn’t mind chatting with the tourists, too, but they’re usually of a mind to keep to themselves. The locals are just, well, locals — Colorado mountain folks are friendly. Heck, it can take an hour to pick up a loaf of bread at the Dinkytown market.

I just went and threw fifty bucks at Bernie for his campaign. I’ve donated to outfits like the Cousteau Society, Nature Conservancy, World Wildlife Fund, and so on many times, but Bernie’s the first political candidate I could get fully behind. Later on I’ll go donate again and buy a couple of t-shirts and lawn signs, mainly just to raise Dinkytown eyebrows. 😀

We’re getting more rain this week to keep the fire danger down. 🙂 I just hope it continues through the fire season, as a long hot, dry spell would just turn the lush undergrowth into tinder. It’s too late to undo the early growth anyway… fingers crossed.

I remember having something interesting to say but not what it was. I must be THC deficient after two or three weeks without. It’s actually because I didn’t get enough sleep last night, but it’s more fun to say that I’m THC deficient. And it’s not necessarily so far-fetched as it sounds. But I’m too pooped to carry on, so I’m going to correct any such deficiency as I might be experiencing and watch Fast Times At Ridgemont High. The author says the book and movie were based upon an undercover thing he did down around San Diego somewhere, but it could just as easily have been the high school Amethyst and I attended. Ah, the strange old days…

5 thoughts on “Another Day In Paradise

  1. cocosangel

    I find Bernie makes a lot of sense in what he says. Even though he doesn’t get much media, but still he has been drawing crowds in the places where he has given speeches.

    Reply
  2. whyzat

    Is there a “no photographs” sign in the pot shop? Ha. What you said made me think of that. A person who wants the place to himself could empty it by whipping out the Nikon!
    We’ve been lucky to get rain this year so maybe we won’t have fires. Do you have a wide distance between your house and the trees?

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Nope, there are no camera prohibitions in place at the three shops I’ve been to, and it’s not uncommon to see tourists taking photos of the display cases. It really is pretty remarkable to see display cases stocked with apothecary jars full of expertly trimmed cannabis bud clusters offered for sale. I haven’t photographed them just because in our new reality it’d be like taking a picture of the mountains around the house — why photograph what you can see any time you like?

      We’re in town, so if a wildfire gets to our trees the house is a goner anyway. We had a wildfire get close to town several years ago, but a couple of days of aircraft raining flame retardant did the trick and left most of the northwest corner of town tinted orange. The nozzles were closed before they got overhead, but they were still trailing a cloud of retardant as they climbed hard to clear the mountain. Having seen it once I’ll be happy to never see it again. 🙂

      Reply
  3. sunsetdragon

    The pot shops here have long lines coming clear out the door with tourists showing why they really came into town-but what the heck they are tossing business to the local motel and places to eat an gas stations.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

