A sign, more or less, of life, more or less

18 days into it the virus is presumably gone but the congestion remains. Whoever invented this shit deserves a baseball bat to the balls. Unless female, in which case she deserves the baseball bat to the cervix. If not gendered, a skillet to the melon. Whatever. Mayhem in any case.

I’ve got a couple of blackberry pies in the oven. I went whole hog and made woven lattice tops, even. I don’t often bake pies. I enjoy doing it, but I just don’t long for a broad assortment of fat pants and that would be required if I baked pies more often.

It’s probably not wise to consume a fruit flavored hunk of immunity suppressing sugar while afflicted by the cruds, but if worst comes to worst I’ll leave a nicer corpse that I would if I were to live to codgerhood. Not that I can think of a single reason, even a half-assed one, why such a thing might matter. Nicer corpse OR surviving to codgerhood.

Be well, friends and neighbors. Being unwell sucks.

5 thoughts on “A sign, more or less, of life, more or less

  1. whyzat

    I like to make pies, too, though my favorite part is the fat-filled crust. I have been known to make a batch of crust, bake it, sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar, and consume it in short order! Yum, bring on the fat pants!

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      I can relate! I was kinda bummed out this evening when I found that I hadn’t made enough puff pastry to have extra to bake on the side. I like to sprinkle on the cinnamon/sugar for the last ten minutes or so that it’s in the oven, and snarf that down while the pies cool.

      Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Thanks! From what I’ve been hearing around town it has gone lots of elsewheres and mostly before it got here. In fact, I don’t know of anyone who came down with it after I did. Lots of folks are saying that it hung around for three weeks — I’ll be hitting the three week mark tomorrow. Maybe it’ll notice then that it’s worn out its welcome.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

