Do You Feel Like We Do?

It’s 1976, late summer. Another beautiful, sunny day in Southern California, not so far from the beach. Sitting on the grass, and smoking grass, with some sweet, smiling hippie chicks. And this:

The conversation, which was probably about the President of The United States falling off of an airplane that wasn’t even moving, stops when the song comes on. Another joint is lit and makes the rounds, because starting at about eight minutes into the song it’ll be time to sing along. You might or might not sing along with the rest, but you absolutely must at about eight minutes. Everyone does.

And for a brief moment in time, life is perfect. It’s everything it was supposed to be.

I’m privileged to have that moment among my memories. It’s one of the moments that saved my life, but even if it weren’t I’d consider myself privileged to have had it.

Where were you in the summer of ’76?

13 thoughts on “Do You Feel Like We Do?

  1. girlforgetful

    I was 8 years old, living several hours North of Southern Cali., and hadn’t heard of grass yet, but definitely singing along. Actually, now that I think about it, there were a few months in the Spring when I was staying with an aunt near Fresno. Still no where near the grass, but those days living in the country are among my favorite memories.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Heh… You were actually very close to the marijuana. While the Emerald Triangle gets all of the major media attention, those foothills east of the Central Valley have been producing massive quantities of pot since the 1960’s. Most of the law enforcement agencies in the valley and in the foothills are deeply involved, with the feds being most deeply involved of all of them. One of the great ironies of the War On Drugs is that those folks who trawl our blogs all the time have been running large grow ops for decades and they’re now mostly licensed by the State of California as medical producers. The licenses are, of course, not in the names of any federal agencies or legally affiliated people.

      Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      I thought it was pretty special at the time, but not so much for the things I wrote about above. Even then I felt deep in my psyche that things were soon to go all to shit, and then in November of 1980 they did. But now I am allowing myself to feel the same kind of hope that we had all those years ago. I don’t need to write a treatise here, but there are lots of concrete reasons to be hopeful again.

      It may yet turn out to be true that you only missed part of it. πŸ™‚

      Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Wow, two peeps out of you in less than a month! I’m going to take that as a sign that there’s hope yet for humanity. πŸ™‚

      Also as an excuse to set fire to some flowers.

      Reply
  2. cocosangel

    I don’t know about weed, but I loved the song. Well the summer of 76, I was still a little girl, trying to figure out about life in general and been clueless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

