My favorite kind…

… of truth, that is. I adore truths that make people squirm, facts that shamelessly fly in the face of cultural mythology, stare back at the audience unblinkingly, and force people to either think or run away. (Those who run away are those who are untrustworthy.) If you’ve got a few minutes more than an hour to spend with truths, you could certainly do worse than to start the video below (of which Carl Hart gets only the first segment, and those who follow are at least as worthy of your time):

At just shy of the one and a quarter hour mark you can tune out again and not miss anything at all important. It’s pretty much a quarter hour of “Here at Stanford we be motherfuckin’ gods, man!”.

Enjoy, and be well!

12 thoughts on “My favorite kind…

  1. theinfiniterally

    Legalize it, man. Unfortunately, a lot of people make emotional judgments about these sorts of things rather than logical ones. We might be getting there, though. Humans are the most socially pliant species I can think of.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Didja neglect to think of dogs, who will gladly modify their behavior in order to gain the social acceptance of an entirely different species whose rules the dog can observe but can never understand? 🙂

      Don’t mind me. I’m learning a lot from Starr Pup. Mainly that crazy is good and never considering anything beyond the present moment even better. 😀

      Reply
      1. theinfiniterally

        Oh yeah, dogs, that peculiar human creation. Hmmm. Makes me wonder whose dogs we might be.

        I need to brush up on Starr Pup. I missed a few things after all.

        Reply
        1. happierheathen Post author

          Starr is a now four month old female Chihuahua puppy, a longhair, black and tan. Amethyst has always wanted “a drop kick puppy” (meaning a toy breed), and now she’s got one. And she’s got me to train it, bathe it, clean up after it… 😀

          Reply
          1. theinfiniterally

            The longhairs are pretty hard to resist. Especially with someone to train, bathe, and clean up after. Heck, I’m surprised Miss Autumn doesn’t have her trained already. Drop kick puppy. Yep, pretty much why I’ve never had a small dog.

            Reply
            1. happierheathen Post author

              Starr is about as cute as can be, a lot more fun than any critter has a right to be, and just a bit too smart for her own good. I was wanting a yellow Lab, but have got a soft spot for Chis because they’re just so much fun when they’re treated well.

              Miss Autumn was terrified of the puppy at first, but she toughed it out and just kept getting a little closer and so a little further out of her comfort zone, until finally she was ready to be friends. Now when she wants to play but the dog is locked up (crate training) she’ll come to me and insist that I must free to dog right damn meow. I am so owned. 😀

              Reply
              1. theinfiniterally

                I don’t see many yellow labs these days. surely a good sign for that breed.

                Interesting feline/human/canine hierarchy you got there. we could perhaps learn something from the heathen household. or at least I hope you’re still holding at no. 2.

                Reply
  2. kaylar

    wow. that was an educational hour. i mean, i am well aware that the group think tends to not be very high in the IQ range, let’s say. but i love hearing the facts to back up my own thinking, which at this point, is WAY outside the norm or general consensus. 🙂 or, where there is money to be made, count on zero justice. i should dig up that artist that did a huge drawing, of just lines of power, between different entities. like, say Halliburton. and that is just what is allowed to be seen. it’s the ones that never ever make the news that are pulling the strings. but i digress.
    now where are the pics of that darling pup harassing the Queen?

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Heh. I’ve got that same kind of thinking anomaly. 🙂 I get shit all the time for the things I say, but it always happens that some months or years later some unimpeachable source (like General Horoho) stands right up and confirms that I wasn’t talking out of my ass. General Horoho cites the same information from the same sources I’ve used, all of it readily available to any who care to look at it… But it’s not tattooed on Kim Kardashian’s ass so most never see it.

      Are you by any chance thinking of “Who Rules America”, the interactive network graph of interlocking corporate directors that essentially showed that a few hundred people run the whole shebang? The link I had for it went away, I suspect because it was moved behind a paywall. There’s a similar kind of thing at http://www.theyrule.net/ which is accessible but not as user friendly as the other one.

      Reply
      1. kaylar

        ok, do not even want to think about general populace or my day will go south. *sigh*
        meanwhile, thank you for new link. i think. one could spend days, and i really don’t want to, following all those leads. i will follow those that interest my little nose.
        the artist was Mark Lombardi. i’ll let you google and follow what interests you. 🙂 i was fascinated, at the time because i had never thought of either doing such a graph/map OR calling it art. anyway, now i have a whole new set of links to follow, because i googled him thinking to give you a link and found all sorts of things i had not seen. like the money around 9/11. (we’ve watched Zeitgeist, the movie).
        ok, seriously, now we really need Pup/Queen pics, to balance all this sh.. out. 😉

        Reply
        1. happierheathen Post author

          I can relate — I don’t want to think about John Q. Public, either. That guy’s an idiot! 😀

          Lombardi’s work is interesting. Network graphs weren’t so common 15 years ago as they are now… Maybe he helped to catalyze their increase in popularity?

          9/11 has been my most disliked topic since 9/12. Gotta give ’em credit, though, for their expertise in building weapons of mass deception. I’m still patiently watching out for those terrorist sleeper cells, but I’ve no idea where the hell I left my duct tape.

          I’ll try to remember to try to get decent photos of the wee beasties. I think of it from time to time, but don’t try every time I think of it because I so rarely acquire a decent image. I need a much higher speed camera!

          Reply

Leave a Reply

