No More Lurch.

We took Lurch to the vet today for his first checkup and shots but he didn’t survive the encounter and the veterinarian laughed about it.

The pup is just fine, but is in fact a female after all so we renamed her Starr. With two R’s, one for each undescended testicle. The vet laughed about us thinking her male after having been told she was female, and said something about how dogs are different in that department from cats. My response was simply that I’ve never really been one to look at animal genitalia, and that hangy downy thingy looked a mite large for a female part to me. Ignorance, dammit, is my excuse!

So now I am again aware that I am outnumbered, gender-wise, three to one. On the up side, we now have two critters sporting pagan-referenced names, both suggested by Amethyst and agreed to by my non-pagan heathen self. It’s all good.

Now, when she gets her feisty on, I call her Death Starr. I’m not a big Star Wars fan, but it makes Amethyst crazy when I say it so I can’t really help myself.

I weighed the pup a day or two after we brought her home and she (who was then still believed to be a she) weighed in at one pound, one ounce. A few days ago it was two pounds, two ounces. Today the vet got her at 2.4 pounds, or two pounds, six ounces. Not bad for three weeks growth.

The pupster didn’t react at all to either the thermometer in the tuchus or the needle in the, well, wherever it went after it disappeared into her fur. It might have helped that the vet gave her a snack before stabbing her and she was still snarfing it down during the shot. She scratched at a point near where the injection went a few minutes later, but hasn’t seemed at all bothered by it since. She must be a tough little chickie-pupsterΒ β€” I’d have whined like a little bitch, myself. πŸ˜€

I guess I just have to learn to accept that the dog is both smarter and tougher than I am.

I’ll leave you with this video… I rarely missed an episode of Midnight Special back in those days and remember seeing this one because it was a relatively big thing to see EW&F on the toob:

12 thoughts on “No More Lurch.

  1. sunsetdragon

    No wonder Starr aka Lurch was squatting instead of doing the male dog potty thingie.
    Oh wow I have guinea pigs bigger than you pup.
    πŸ˜›

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      It’s amazing how things make sense once the whole story is known, huh? πŸ˜€ Most things are bigger than Starr, but she thinks she’s a big dog so it balances out.

      Reply
  2. whyzat

    Oh man, I remember Midnight Special so well! Wolfman Jack! I wonder if EW&F is touring these days like every other band that we baby boomers grew up with?
    I hope you haven’t confused little Lurch, er, Starr. Well, actually YOU were the confused one. Unlike humans, dogs are okay with whoever they are! Must be nice.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      I was curious, too, so I looked. On EWF’s web site it says “No shows booked at the moment”.

      Starr seems to be okay with the name change. She comes to me when I call her, but it’s likely the tone of voice more than the syllables used. I suspect that I could say something silly like “transmission fluid” in that tone of voice and she’d come running just the same. πŸ˜€

      Reply
  3. kaylar

    death starr. lurch starr. it’s all good. love your stories, heathen-one.
    solstice approaches. maybe the amethyst will gift us with a post. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      πŸ™‚

      Amethyst’s not spending much time in front of the computer these days. Every darn time I turn around I’m answering one of her questions with “If you’d checked your email in the last month you’d know already” πŸ˜€ Lately she’s been keeping the public library busy. And trying to convince Starr that Amethysts are not doggie chew toys.

      I’ll mention to her that she might get online and update her blog, but I expect she’ll give her usual answer, “Yeah… I suppose I should…”

      Reply
  4. cocosangel

    So this is female. πŸ™‚ Starr. Onething I have learned is, that when they are puppies or kittens, they don’t realize that they get a shot. Even Coco was like that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

