I Like Words

There’s a convenience store chain:

Ever since the first time I saw one I’ve been referring to it as Wham Bam. No one who hasn’t heard it from Amethyst or me before has ever figured out what I meant by Wham Bam, but all it takes is to say “Kum & Go” and no further explanation is necessary. No one’s ever said, “I dont’ get it”.

Something I’ve been wondering: When George Lucas was coming up with names for the characters in Star Wars, did he think the character eventually played by Harrison Ford was a bit of a jerkoff? And did the princess’ name come about because he thought, “You’re a sap, Luke. The one thing that princess is never gonna do is Leia?”. It seems kinda obvious that the big hairy co-pilot was inspired by some chick he met at a cowboy bar who had that telltale white ring on the hip pocket of her jeans.

I’ve mentioned this one before: On bottles of Ivory dishwashing liquid it says:

Gentle On Hands
Hard On Grease

I appreciate that my hands won’t get chapped but I still can’t see myself using it that way.

Something else I’ve mentioned before: Green Giant Steamers. I just can’t bring myself to buy something that’s supposed to be food that is named after a fresh cow flop.

I only recently became aware of this one: Dried Plums. Are we really so affected by marketing that Dried Plums sell significantly better than prunes?

I had more but Miss Awesome is telling me that it’s time to pet the cat. She’s usually right about those kinds of things.

4 thoughts on “I Like Words

  1. promisesunshine

    oh my gosh. i get it. han shot first. sorry that was a tangent. these things happen when it’s too early and there’s no coffee next to me.
    is the wham bam a real convenience store? who the heck named that? (i mean the real name. i like your funny name)

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      I was thinking HanD Solo… πŸ˜€

      Yes indeed, it’s a real convenience store chain found mostly in the Midwest but also in some regions of the West. According to wikipedia the name was chosen because the founders of the corporation are (William) Kraus and (Tony) Gentle, K & G. They might just as well have named the thing Krotch And Gonad, I think. πŸ˜€

      Reply
  2. kaylar

    heh. love it. ms. autumn, your queen, is right, of course. (funny, i’m working on something about words, but not quite so ….sexy, or something. πŸ˜‰ )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

