Murf E. Slaugh

Murphy’s Law: My new phone arrived today but the carrier’s local office is closed because technology outsmarted them so I can’t get a SIM card for it. They might also be closed tomorrow, the sign says. I’ve no idea if the new phone will place or receive calls, but the sound quality of multimedia is outstanding for a mobile phone. My last phone was one with just a single speaker on the back of the thing and it sounded pretty lousy, but this one has two speakers on the front that sound surprisingly good for a cell phone.

kitkat

That’s what it looks like just now. It might be different tomorrow, but I’m thinking that the black honeycomb wallpaper is probably there to stay. It kinda sorta matches the grille of my truck.

I do wonder if the darn thing will make calls…

9 thoughts on “Murf E. Slaugh

  1. Roadkill Spatula

    Mine came cluttered with a lot more apps than I’ll ever use. I still haven’t figured out how to get the actual icons I use onto just one screen instead of scattered across three or four swipes. I think it came with a manual, but I have no idea where it went.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      I hate the bloatware that carriers add to their phones! I never used any of it in my old phone but it was there eating storage and in some cases CPU and battery just the same. The new one is a “Google Play Edition” which is stock Android without any additions. Much better. And it’s rooted so I can do as I please with it, which is better still. πŸ™‚

      If your phone is running Android, you can move icons just by long pressing them until you get feedback (dependent upon version) indicating that they’re ready to be moved. Then drag to wherever you want it, or to Delete or Trash if you wish to remove the icon from the display. To move an icon from one screen to another, drag it to edge in the direction of the screen you want it to land on, and continue holding there until the screen flips. When you reach the screen you want the icon to land on, drag it to where you want it and lift your finger.

      I’ve not had an Android that came with a useful manual. With my first one, the guy who sold it to me just said, “You’re a Linux guy. You’ll figure it out”. He’s a Windows guy so to his way of thinking the display manager and system utilities are all part of the operating system. Being a technical guy I’m big on RTFM but there was no M to RTF out of. I did get it figured out, but it took longer than it would have if there were a manual.

      Reply
      1. Roadkill Spatula

        Sure enough. I got them onto one screen.

        There’s a setup icon that I’ve never used. Ton of other stuff. I generally avoid the Google World Dominance programs because I don’t like the idea of them handling all my stuff. I suppose I could delete their icons on the general menu and a few other things I’ll never use. I don’t know what most of them even do.

        Reply
        1. happierheathen Post author

          Alright! I’m glad I could help. πŸ™‚

          I’m with ya as regards the Googod, but I try to temper it with the knowledge that all smart phones and any that are registered to your identity are spies anyway. Unbridled capitalism (AKA rampant greed) is a real bitch.

          Reply
  2. cocosangel

    Your cell phone is so lovely. I like how it has the weather in front, and time. I hope you will be able to get the calling.
    I am sure you will be able to get a different wall paper if you want. Or have your own photo uploaded.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      The weather thing is an app I purchased after trying about a dozen of them to find one that was complete and didn’t crash a lot. That I got one I actually like to look at was just a bonus. πŸ™‚ Oh, and I apologize for the ambiguity: The wallpaper is one that I added because I like it, which is why it’s probably there to stay.

      With luck the carrier’s local office will be open today and I’ll be able to get a SIM card to stuff into the thing. That’d be kind of novel, using the phone for talking. πŸ˜€

      Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      The stereo speakers are nice. I’ve found myself playing music with the thing, which I rarely did with my old phones because they sounded like an old transistor radio inside a beer can. Not that I ever actually put an old transistor radio inside a beer can, but I imagine that it’d sound like any one of my old phones.

      It’s 53 degrees now, heading toward a forecast low of 42 tonight, and one of the competing forecasts says that our growing season has about 48 hours left in it. I hope that one’s wrong. Winter will be quite long enough without coming early.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

