Bot me a fone

I don’t know how many of those who regularly visit my puddle of bytes are technophiles who have fucks to give about things like flagship cell phones, but that’s what I’m writing about this evening. I’ll keep it short. You believe me, right? πŸ˜€

I was almost duped by the marketing that One Plus is using to peddle their new phone, the One. If you’re not into geekery you probably haven’t heard of the thingΒ β€” which is okay, because for now you’re better off not hearing about it. If you should encounter it, do yourself a favor and read the tech support section of their online forums before making the purchase decision.

If FedEx isn’t mistaken I’ll be receiving my new HTC One (M8) Google Plus Edition on Friday. Not the One Plus One, but the HTC One. Two different manufacturers, two different phones.

8 thoughts on “Bot me a fone

  1. girlforgetful

    I still rock the same phone I purchased in 2010 or ’11; it’s that old, I can’t remember. I mean, old in cell phone years. Practically senior citizen old. It turns itself on and off randomly now, and occasionally it seems to have a stroke and die. Half the apps it came with no longer work, and many of the new ones aren’t compatible with it, I’m too cheap to upgrade, because I know as soon as I get a phone I love it’ll be replaced by something better and at this point I’d rather not be distracted by things that are shiny and becoming obsolete the moment it comes out of the box. I hope you like your new Android friend, though.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      If I didn’t need the thing for business I wouldn’t even have a cell phone. My primary use of it is for the client that connects to my server monitoring system to alert me to failures that require my attention, and when we’re out and about I tether my netbook to it for work. I’ll run the new one until it gets flaky like the old one is now, and all the cool kids have been laughing at me for years for carrying such an outdated old clunker. πŸ™‚

      Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Ain’t that the truth! I’d be just as happy if application updates that take advantage of the evolution of hardware that I don’t own didn’t happen to the hardware I do own. I guess I’ll just have to suck it up and carry on — the whole purpose of the phone is to support my business, so it’s this reality or one I’d dislike a million times more.

      Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      That’s where I was until relatively recently. We had no cell phone, no vehicle, and no television, and didn’t feel a need for any of those things. But then reality changed on us, so now we’ve got the truck and the cell phone. It’d be a helluva long walk to the pot shop. πŸ˜€

      Reply
  2. msmonsterful

    I have a flip phone, fer Pete’s sake. If the cool kids laugh at you a few years down the road, just point at me and say, “Yeah, but get a load of THIS chick.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

