Random Complaining. And Not.

Not long after I crawled out of bed this afternoon I noticed a strange visual disturbance, like peering through rippling water in the right-hand periphery of my right eye. It was quite pronounced and not at all pleasant, and got me to doing some STFW.

Apparently, that’s a common enough thing for a migraine aura. Coincidentally, I’ve had a bit of a headache all day, too — and not one induced by ethanol, as I’ve had none for a few days. Maybe I should? There’s wine upstairs, and I’m baking bread this evening so I have excuses to go up there… Hmmm…

But I just have to ask: What is up with this migraine shit? I’ve suffered the cruel joke of post-coital migraine, but coitus isn’t implicated here either. Maybe I need both wine and sex? Amethyst is upstairs, too… And would likely give me the hammer blow to the head without all of that preliminary sexual intercourse to delay her getting back to sleep because she’s got to get up in less than four hours. She can be very efficient when she puts her mind to it.

Fortunately, both ethanol and cannabis seem to be effective as prophylaxis for those post-coital hammer blow migraines. Which is cool and good to know, but also kind of sick and twisted. Not tonight, honey, I’m not high enough to have sex with you.

Oh darn. I was going to experiment right here in live blogland to see if wine would stop the headache, but I left my wine on the dining table. At least I got the bread into the oven. ‘Scuse me… Okay, now, the experiment begins. I expect failure.

In other news, the client whose servers are being attacked by that nasty botnet didn’t even call me names when I hit him with the invoice. He did, though, ask if he could pay it over the span of three months. I’d rather see it all at once so it’s easier to piss a big chunk of it away, but a few installments won’t hurt either. I might not go hog wild on the installment plan, but I will probably try to buy one of those cool OnePlus One phones if I can determine with a high degree of certainty that it’ll work way out here in the sticks where 4G might arrive some time in the next decade. If that’s a no-go I guess I’ll have to spend more to get a lesser phone that will work here. Worse things could happen.

The wine doesn’t seem to be helping. Maybe I need to follow it up with a combustible analgesic of some kind? I’ve been working more than blogging, and it’s quittin’ time, and the bread has been out just about long enough to be snarfed. Holy shit what am I doing here futzing around with the Voidpress?

11 thoughts on “Random Complaining. And Not.

  1. promisesunshine

    quite a few people i know have suffered headaches this week. someone near and dear to me, in fact, which is why i care enough to wonder if there’s something in the air. incidentally, i have the total fog that might be in your air. (without the better bits)

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      If there’s something in the air I hope it’ll just blow away soon. I used to be all but completely impervious to headaches and liked it that way just fine.

      I highly recommend the better bits. 🙂

      Reply
  2. sunsetdragon

    Hope you are feeling better and they just approved a pot shop down the road from us. I am wondering how many out of towers will be visiting this little dried up town and this gives new meaning to the commercial ‘ This Buds for you.”

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Thanks! I’m feeling a lot better today.

      Our experience here is that pot shops don’t really cause problems. Not that I want any retail business operating next door to my house, but if I had to choose between a liquor store and a pot shop I’d want a pot shop there. The patrons are quieter, happier, and more respectful.

      Reply
  3. theinfiniterally

    I never got post-coital headaches from coitus. Lucky me. There was a tough period though where self-love…ok, TMI. Good to read in the comments you’re feeling better.

    Getting paid sounds a lot better than the alternative. One plus one phone. Have to check that out.

    Reply
  4. SouthernHon

    I’ve had those optical migraines at least 3 times in my life. Scary shit, for sure. Usually they don’t cause pain, but at least in my case, the post-migraine fatigue hits just as hard the next day.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      I’d never experienced anything like that before so was weirded out by it. Now that I know what it is, if it happens again I’ll just cuss a little and do my best to ignore it. I’d rather it never happen again, though. I can think of better ways to induce visual disturbances. 😀

      Reply
  5. Roadkill Spatula

    The handful of migraines I had in my youth were all optical. The first one freaked me out: I saw a triangle, a circle, and a square in my right eye. When I looked at a schoolbook, the left side of the page was blank. The wooziness went away when I threw up.

    The last one I had was in high school. My dorm mother gave me some strong pill, and I went and lay down on my bed and stared at my roommate’s psychedelic optical-illusion poster on the ceiling and listened to Pink Floyd.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Wow. My visual disturbance was nowhere near so interesting. I felt nauseated but nothing more came of it so I was happy about that.

      When I was a kid about half of the mothers in the neighborhood got migraines that they treated with strong pills. I don’t know how strong was the correlation between prescriptions for barbiturates (which were all the rage then) and headaches, but I got the feeling even then that it wasn’t much of one. Their kids liked those pills at least as much as their mothers did — not because the kids were filching them, which they weren’t, but because when mommy got loaded she stayed quietly on the sofa and out of their hair. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

