Taco Night!

‘Tis taco night here at the happy heathen homestead. We’re like, all Eurotrashy and stuff with our late dinners. That, or there’s a night owl manning the stove. It could be that.

More about life in a dinky town: You know you live in a dinky town when you just make do with whatever is in the very limited selection of the only market in town. I wanted sirloin for the taco meat but all they had a was a few grey steaks, so we’re making do with a round roast which is thinly sliced and marinating quietly in beer, and of course with some green chiles, jalapeños, onion, garlic, and cilantro. That makes it carne asada, for those of you who aren’t up on such things. If you are up on such things are are wondering how I could possibly forget such a vital ingredient, I hold the citrus until the meat is cooking, as marinating in citrus can make the meat rubbery. And it’s a damned hunk of round so it’s tough enough already.

Amethyst is officially on vacation for nine days now. At the moment she of witchy countenance is washing some dishes and dancing around the kitchen to swing music. Miss Autumn usually dances with her, but must have worn herself out because she’s here in the office lying on the floor behind me. [… time passes…] Nope, not too worn out. She’s gone back upstairs. Good idea. I’ve got some cookin’ to do.

Life is good.

 

2 thoughts on “Taco Night!

  1. theinfiniterally

    I never know quite exactly what I’m doing when I marinate, so it’s good to know about the citrus. I like late dinners. Sounds like a good night at the heathen house.

    Reply
  2. Roadkill Spatula

    Does sound like a good life.

    I’ve come to realize that I don’t care enough about food to become a great cook. I just throw everything together and overcook it. The crock pot is my friend. I buy different meats now that I’m married. I used to buy lots of pork because it was cheap. Now I buy skinless chicken breasts and 93% ground beef and la-de-da stuff like that. (“Excuse me while I play the grand piano!”)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

