FFD, Part Two

My phone has been quiet all day. There are two I’d hoped I might but didn’t expect to hear from, but those are long stories of which I don’t know even most of the details so I’m doing my best to pretend I’m not disappointed. The calls will eventually come, for other reasons, and they’ll make excuses that they’ll pretend are true and valid and I’ll pretend to accept those excuses at face value.

As predicted, Amethyst wished me a happy Father’s Day. I told her that while I appreciate the thought it’s a day that means either nothing or a slap in the face to me, depending upon my mood at the time, so I’d rather just ignore it. What’s family to me? Family is what we call those whom we allow to take advantage of us in ways we would never allow others. She said, “Hey, I’m family!’. My response: No, you’re my Amethyst.

I can’t get even half way to adequately explaining what that means. She was my high school sweetheart and remains to this day the only woman I’ve ever truly loved — the rest were just going through the motions or even less meaningful than that. The loss of her all those years ago stands out as the greatest psychic pain I’ve ever known and the closest to suicidal I’ve ever been. I went for years, about 24 of them, trying to convince myself that it was all just first love, a thing that can only happen when you’re quite young, inexperienced, pumped on hormones, fueled by fantasy, and all of that other stuff that makes being a late teenager so interesting and confusing and wonderful and fucked up. But something deep inside always countered with that wee small voice that said, “No, man, you know better than that”. We were all of those things, surely, except fueled by fantasy. We knew and clearly saw each others foibles, faults, and imperfections even then, but they did not matter. We’ve both still got all of the same foibles, faults, and imperfections, and some newer ones besides, but they still do not matter. They’re what make us who we are, what make us compatible, what bring the symmetry and symbiosis to our relationship. And that’s what makes all the difference in the world.

If it were just first love the intensity would surely have quickly gone out of it when we reunited at 40/41 years of age, both of us battered and bruised by life in the years we spent apart. We were both, truth be told, cynical as hell and if not for each other happy with the prospect of finishing out our lives without significant romantic relationships. If it worked, it worked, and if it didn’t, it didn’t. It actually started out as plans for a visit and nothing more, but over the course of many all night telephone conversations it became clear that we just couldn’t get enough of each other and I told her, “You know, once you get here you’re never leaving again”, and she agreed that it was very unlikely. She wasn’t here very long at all when I told her that if she wanted to go she was free to leave, “… but it’s a long walk to the bus station in Grand Junction”. So now “it’s a long walk to Grand Junction” is one of our inside jokes.

That’s why, “You’re my Amethyst” is so much more and better than “you’re my wife” or “you’re my family” or anything else that I could say. She’s the one who changed my life all those years ago and showed me how wonderful it could be, and even if we’d never reestablished communication she’d still be that. If she were to have ended our visit and gone back down the road that brought her, she’d still be that. If she were to tell me two minutes from now that she hates my greasy guts and is leaving, she’d still be the one who changed my life all those years ago. But she’s even more than that now, eleven plus years into our reunion, and I’m certain that she’s not ever going to tell me that she’s leaving, or sticking around despite not liking me so very much any more.

And that’s not even half sufficient an explanation of it.

So no one who calls me Dad sent me a card or rang my phone. They’re in their 30’s, have lives of their own that I’m not all that big a part of, and that’s okay. I’m mildly disappointed, but I know what’s most important in my life of my own that those 30-something kids aren’t all that big a part of, and the one who’s most important to me is just about eight feet away on the other side of my office ceiling. There’s a heater vent above my desk, immediately beyond it is the one next to our bed, and at this time of night I can often just hear her breathing as she sleeps. That’s a hell of a lot better than any ringing telephone could ever be.

15 thoughts on “FFD, Part Two

    1. happierheathen Post author

      Indeed. I often joke that we both hit home runs on our first times at bat. Love at first sight isn’t the myth they say it is.

      You and your bald guy are doing pretty well for yourselves, too, eh? 🙂

      Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      It’s funny but sad: Some of our old friends from high school, upon hearing that we were back together, asked us to look up their high school sweethearts for them. And every one of those who asked was married. We didn’t take up the quests, of course. It’s up to them to screw up their own marriages or end them if they’re already bad, and it would have been unkind of us to set up those long lost loves for ugly rebound encounters anyway.

      Reply
      1. theinfiniterally

        ha, that is funny and sad. I guess it kind of goes to show, true love is a tenacious idea. 😀
        I have no high school sweetheart to dream about. I didn’t go to high school.

        Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      I’ve already got people thinking that everyone I’ve ever considered a friend was a dirtbag, so it seemed that in addition to being what was on my mind, it would be good to show a little evidence that I’m not a bitter old dude who hates the world. 🙂 And throw a little positivity into the world, too.

      Reply
  1. kaylar

    *sigh* i could not bring myself to call mine, either. he was nowhere near as dark as yours, but he’s got some dark that he won’t own and i am tired of trying to confront him with it. Ph.D, and all. anyway, you are REALLY good at story-telling/truth-telling. For me, the first post, counters this one, making it sweeter. So glad you have your Amethyst.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      I’m a real silver linings kinda guy, believe it or not. And this one? Heck, it’s all silver, no cloud. 🙂

      I hope your father comes around at some point. Resolution is always good.

      Reply
      1. kaylar

        i am going to remember that, happy heathen. 🙂
        the father actually emailed me back (which he does) AND said he had not been the kind of father he wished he had been. that’s as good as it’s going to get, and that is fine.
        and thankx.

        Reply
  2. Roadkill Spatula

    True love is an amazing thing. I had no idea what it was really like until 2010 when it descended on me.

    I was hit-or-miss with Father’s Day cards and calls when my dad was alive (and he was a great dad), but with eight kids, he was bound to get a fair number of timely greetings. My own kids do okay with it, although they have a tendency to remember at the very last minute. Considering my own record, I don’t hold it against them.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      It is amazing, isn’t it? Many splendored, even. 😀 Every darn time some “mental health professional” has told me that true love and/or love at first sight are myths, my response has been, “I’m really very sorry that you’ve never had that experience”. They think I’m delusional, I think they’re missing out on the very best parts of being alive.

      I’m really glad that you were standing in the right place to have it fall upon you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

