Gluten Intolerant? Celiac? Check this out.

Glyphosate, pathways to modern diseases II: Celiac sprue and gluten intolerance I’ve been saying for years and years that when the science-droids got around to looking they would find that various ‘cides (herbicides, pesticides, fungicides) applied to grain crops would be what’s behind the dramatic increase in gluten intolerance/celiac disease. And here ’tis:

Image

 

It looks pretty convincing to me. And again I say FUCK MONSANTO. It’s only fair. They’ve been fucking us for decades.

Be proud of me for not going even further with the rant that’s so volatile inside my skull that my hair wants to fall out just to get away from it. There’s data ↑up there↑ that says it all for me.

17 thoughts on “Gluten Intolerant? Celiac? Check this out.

  1. theinfiniterally

    I saw a link to this story the other day but didn’t have time to look at the study. I don’t always know what to think about this stuff, but if you say it’s legit, I trust your judgment.

    I wonder how it correlates to autism rates? Not that it necessarily should, I’ve just heard speculation that Celiac and autism could be related.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      It seems legit, as long as they actually used the data they say they used. The analysis is straightforward 8th grade math. Or at any rate what was 8th grade math when I was an 8th grader. Could be 5th grade or postgrad by now for all I know.

      I don’t really have my head wrapped around autism as I do some other things, but my gut says excitotoxins and/or neurotoxins are the thing to look at, starting in the prenatal environment. If I had to bet five bucks, I’d put my money down on glutamates, also known as hydrolyzed proteins, yeast extracts, natural flavor, and so on.

      Reply
      1. theinfiniterally

        I followed a link from alternative press and didn’t check if it was a legit study or a bunch of religious or otherwise agenda-driven scientists, neither of which am I qualified to assess. It was a dumb comment (or was it a question? I can’t see my original comment from this reply field) since you wouldn’t have been saying any of this in the first place if you didn’t think the study wasn’t legit. Thus proving that I have been seriously brain-fried this week. 😀

        Would MSG fit the categories you are talking about, in regards to autism? Some emailed me a link about a woman who claims to have cured her daughter by removing MSG from her diet. I sort of suspect there is an ulterior motive in sending me links about the thousands of things I haven’t tried, but a part of me can’t stop looking for the ‘magic ingredient’ just the same. And it wouldn’t be THAT difficult to try this one.

        Reply
        1. happierheathen Post author

          MSG is an excitotoxin, as all non-endogenous glutamates are. (Excitotoxins are substances that result in damage and death to nerve cells by overstimulating them.)

          Reply
          1. theinfiniterally

            That sounds vaguely familiar. Where did I hear about that? If you were to write a post, I would read it. Or I could even do the research my lazy-ass self.

            Reply
  2. sojournable

    I’m kind of shocked. I really did expect a longer rant. lol 🙂 When I read an article on this today and it spoke of glyphosate destroying beneficial bacteria in the gut, I kind of expected to maybe see a spike about 2005. But, I guess it’s like many food related illnesses, delayed onset makes it hard to tie definitively to a specific event.

    Reply
  3. whyzat

    Correlation does not mean causation. Austism SEEMS to be on the rise, but I don;t think anyone knows for sure since the powers that be keep changing what autism IS. I saw a graph once that made it look like, as more organic food is being produced, austism rates have gone up. Times have changed in many ways.
    I’m not a flag-waver for big ag, but, you know, if they didn’t do the good part of what they did, a lot of people in this world would be real hungry. The unreasonable fear of NGOs is keeping many people from having food. There are lots of people, and there are going to be a lot more, and probably less land for agriculture in the near future. We’re going to have to use all the tricks in the box.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      The autism thing was tangential and came up in the comments — I was, as the study was, speaking to the issue of celiac disease. I don’t suspect glyphosate of being implicated in autism. I don’t think we need the shit, and it won’t be long before it’s worthless anyway if the amaranth that’s now immune to it is any indication. No worries, though, as amaranth is perfectly edible, highly nutritious, and tasty stuff — if it’s not saturated with Roundup. 🙂

      At present, hunger in the world is still a distribution problem, not a production problem — there’s enough food, more than enough, but those who are desperately poor have no money with which to buy it, and in larger and larger swaths of the third world the local farmland the poor have traditionally depended upon has been taken away to be used for export crops at the insistence of the IMF/World Bank. Big ag will not solve that problem. Big ag is one of the sources of that problem.

      I am not aware of a single GMO that increases cropland yield or reduces input costs. We do not need GMO’s, and I can envision a future in which we regret allowing them to be planted. ‘Nuther topic for another day.

      Reply
  4. theinfiniterally

    World bank. Yeah, I remember hearing about that, too. The particular way in which this planet is being raped defies conventional explanation. I mean, it doesn’t, probably, but it’s such a cartoon-ish level of evil for run of the mill ordinary human beings that it makes you dream up cartoon-ish explanations. I mean, who does that shit? And just a to get a little bit more money and power? It leaves me with the feeling that I’m missing something. Oh well. At least I enjoy cartoons.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

