Got Traction, Now Catching Up

After spinning my wheels through most of last week, I finally got some traction mid-afternoon Friday and got me some stuff done. Finally! Now I’m trying to get last week’s work and this week’s work all done before the week ends… Will probably fail.

That recalcitrant server finally gave in and let me win. I’m going to start the noisy bastard up as soon as this post is committed to posterior, er, uh, posterity, and get more goodies installed on it. My client decided to buy some new hard disks so it’ll be chock full of new ones, and with luck we won’t be dealing with any more disk failures any time soon. Time will tell.

The garage door now has all new springs and cables and is working much better than it has since we moved in. Yay. Steel under tension is one of my least favorite things but I only bled twice so the job went about as well as can be expected. And now there are safety cables in both of the appropriately and equally sized springs, so if one should prematurely fail it might not cause any additional damage. One can hope.

I noticed the other day that the jar of pickles we have in our cold thing is labeled “Product Of India”. I’ve nothing against the good people of India; my glitch is the fossil fuels that were burnt to get their produce here. What The FUCK. Did we forget how to grow cucumbers here or what?

We started calling the refrigerator the cold thing because Miss Autumn just love love loves to put her face against the bottom of the box that’s usually behind the door. It started out as “Autumn’s cold thing”, and by now is just the cold thing. We’re weird but we’re happy.

I’m a busy busy boy, taking time to read your blogs but with not a lot of time to leave comments thoughtful or not. That might be a good thing, eh? Please know that I’m not ignoring anyone, even if there’s no outward sign that I’m not.

Be well, friends and neighbors!

10 thoughts on “Got Traction, Now Catching Up

  1. cocosangel

    So Autumn loves the fridge. I have never found Coco to love it. Lucky for me she doesn’t even check what’s inside. πŸ™‚ She is a curious busy body, but not that much. We are crazy too, in our family. πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ Sometimes, I wonder if the neighbours were listening, that they would sure think we are crazy bunch!

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Autumn’s good about looking at what’s in the fridge without touching it. She’s the same way when she sits at the table with us during meals — she just sits there in a chair with us, sometimes sniffing at the food if it’s close to the edge but not touching it or nibbling at it. πŸ™‚ All in all she’s a pretty good cat.

      The neighbors are convinced that we’re oddballs. That’s perfectly okay with us. πŸ˜€

      Reply
  2. theinfiniterally

    Good to see you’re hanging in there. Like, not like some sort of poster kitty, like a good, solid kind of hanging in there. Like a refurbished garage door! Whew. Really saved that one.

    My internet skin has grown thicker and thicker over the years. In most cases. But it would be best if you could finish up the unimportant stuff and start sharing your wisdom with us again. Just saying.

    That pickle thing chafes my gherkin. Goldamn profiteers.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Until just now I didn’t even know where the nearest Trader Joe’s might be, but now I do and it’s 250 miles away. That seems close enough, since I’m not inclined to go there anyway. πŸ˜€ The Indian pickles came from the only market in Dinkytown, which is just getting suckier all the time.

      Reply
  3. whyzat

    We had a spring give up on our garage door opener and it was kinda scary! We were standing nearby, heard it, and wondered what in the hell had happened. Yikes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

