heh.

It was an interesting experience buying legal cannabis for the first time. I’ve been waiting decades to do it, and while standing there waiting (just a few minutes) for my turn at the counter I wasn’t sure whether the surprising thing was that it had actually become possible or that it took so long to become possible.

While we were waiting we got to observe some tourists from out of state scoring their first legal dope, just as we were. It was funny to watch, as they were clearly overwhelmed and the older man of the group appeared to be a bit nervous. They had just got to the counter when we walked in, and still hadn’t decided on a single item to purchase by the time we left. In the meantime, four other customers who’d been ahead of us were serviced, and so were we. I wonder how long it took to get them out of the store. πŸ˜€

Image

The seal almost looks like it should have come from an R. Crumb comic, doesn’t it? πŸ˜€ That’s a photo of the seal on the legally required label on one of my purchases. Marijuana Enforcement Division. I thought it was funny even before I opened the bottle.

While we were inside the shop, a momentous occasion in our lifetimes, it was interesting but not that big a deal. After we got back into the truck and were pulling out of the parking lot, though, it hit us. We had just purchased legal pot from a state licensed retailer, and out on the highway it was no riskier a proposition than driving with a loaf of bread. It was surreal.

The “budtender” who helped us told us that he recently served a vacationing judge from Alabama who remarked that he “put[s] people in prison for this back home”. I’m not sure how I feel about that. On the one hand it’s his job to do the will of the state legislators, but on the other hand he ruins people’s lives for engaging in an activity that he very clearly does not perceive as inherently wrong. It’s a grotesque hypocrisy. It seems that the guy is another example of why contempt for all courts is the only rational response.

Yeah yeah sure sure, the difference is that it’s illegal in Alabama so it’s good and right and just that people’s lives should be ruined by a judge who could not himself pass a urinalysis drug screening. Cue the music…

I don’t know that it’s universal, but at the weedmart we went to and in the photos I’ve seen of others, the product in the display cases is stored in apothecary jars. I think that instead of budtenders we should call them jaristas. πŸ˜€

19 thoughts on “heh.

  1. girlforgetful

    Was there a lot of variety? Did they have a Pot O’ the Day? Could you smoke it inside the shop or is that illegal?

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Yes, there was a pretty good variety. They’re not putting everything they’ve got in the recreational side yet, as their first responsibility is to the medical users, but even so there were probably, oh, 15 or so strains out and a good selection of edibles. The specials they’re running now are for medical users only — until production is ramped up, the store is limiting purchases to just 1/8oz. per customer per day, so there’s no reason to run specials. You can see the selection online: http://rockymountainremedies.com/

      Smoking anything inside a commercial establishment is illegal here, and cannabis can only legally be consumed on private property with the owner’s consent. Lots of hotels have banned it, while some others are advertising that they’re allowing it.

      Reply
  2. whyzat

    Ha, the MED division. Sounds like what I do when putting my pills in one of those divided containers.
    I wonder if I would buy it if I went there? I bet Hubby would try it if he thought it would ease some of his aches and pains.
    So, was it good shit?

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      It certainly eased my aches and pains, and without making me loopy or stupid. I’ve never been one to get wasted, prefer just to reach the point of a mellow perspective which requires just one or two hits, and the pain relief was very near complete at just that. Relatively speaking, the effects that are more or less comparable to alcohol were about what I experience with about two-thirds of a glass of wine, but with less impairment.

      Yes, it’s pretty high quality stuff in the stores. What I got: http://rockymountainremedies.com/menu-items/flo-3/ for daytime, and http://rockymountainremedies.com/menu-items/ghost-og/ for night. The only licensed stores are those that were already licensed medical cannabis shops, and because the law requires them to grow at least 70% of their own product (to keep the black market product from entering the supply chain) what we’re seeing right now is the result of increased production of their medical strains. No ditch weed here! πŸ˜€

      Reply
  3. theinfiniterally

    It be strange days indeed.

    I’m sorry to hear you’ve been hurting, but glad you’ve found something that helps. For some weird reason, I’ve had far more dreams about smoking pot than actual experience. I don’t know how I’d feel about the opportunity to make my dreams come true. Maybe I’ll wait for the aches and pains to to really ramp up and make a trip to the Rocky Mountain High.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Well, shucks, I’d think about moving if I lived in a state where possession might lead to a jail sentence and I anticipated being in possession from time to time, but only because I detest pigs. Er, uh, “law enforcement officers”. Also judges and lawyers. And the risk of incarceration, of course.

      Reply
      1. erikamsteele

        Meh…my husband would freak out, divorce me, and try to take my son if I smoked weed. I wish I were kidding. I can drink around my son, but he would lose his mind if I smoked pot, despite the fact I am more likely to just think every thing is funny and allow him to paint the walls, carpet and furniture.

        Also, I have only had bad experiences with drug dealers and don’t want to form a “trusting” relationship with one that may have weed that would get me high and hasn’t been cut with god knows what. It would be nice to just be able to buy it legally. I am not worried about getting caught. In Alabama, you go to “drug court” if you have enough money. Free out patient re-hab. Big whoop.

        Reply
        1. happierheathen Post author

          I guess he’s one of too many still deceived by Nixon’s propaganda, eh? Bummer.

          A thing that I find almost as funny as the MED seal is the mandatory list of ingredients on the label, which includes everything that was used in production of the buds inside except the cannabis itself. Everything in the rooting medium, nutrients used, biological controls, the whole works is listed. I feel almost like a protected consumer, which is very much unlike just buying whatever is on hand from whoever is selling it.

          I think rehab would suck even more than traffic school, and would hate knowing that I would be included in the statistics that self-serving asswipes use to support the falsehood that cannabis is addictive. Why, just look at how many kids there are in rehab for marijuana addiction!

          Reply
          1. erikamsteele

            Maybe that is what his problem is. I have never really asked since I am not going to buy weed. He is one of those people with way too much trust in the government.

            I never thought about the idea that court mandated drug rehab is used to fuel anti-drug propaganda.

            Reply
            1. happierheathen Post author

              Egad. Trusting the government is just unfathomable to me.

              It’s kinda funny, ain’t it, how that works? First we give millions of people the choice between prison and rehab, then we use the rehab participation numbers as indications of “addiction” as it’s newly redefined (to include habituation), and use those data to justify maintaining criminal sanctions. Just to make sure that our numbers are unassailable, we tell rehab participants that if they don’t cop to having an addiction they’ll be considered incorrigible and failed out of the program to end up in prison. Then we can say that it’s the users themselves reporting that they’re addicted, and rebut any arguments to the contrary.

              Well I’m proud to be an Amerikin where at least ah know ah’m free… πŸ˜€

              Reply
  4. Roadkill Spatula

    It used to be that to work in federal law enforcement, any drug use was enough to blackball you. Then after Clinton, past marijuana use (more than three years ago and only very limited use) was okay. I wonder what this development will mean to future feds.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Another and perhaps more curiouser snack for thought: How would NAFTA affect legalization at the federal level?

      Personally, I think it’d suck in a big way to have to open the border to Mexican ditch weed, paraquat residue, and agribusiness cannabis. I rather like the cottage industry model we’ve got here in Colorado.

      Reply
  5. asexatheani

    I plan on visiting Denver for my 21st next year. I’ve never been a fan of alcohol, and I think it’ll take California a few more years to get on the weed train.

    Still, I’m glad this is finally happening. The Drug War is arguably the worst governmental policy of the past 100 years, and certainly the most costly and inefficient. Best of all, because there’s no religious objections to it, it’s moving towards public acceptance even faster than gay marriage.

    The future is green. πŸ˜€

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Don’t be surprised if visiting Colorado leads to thoughts of transferring to CU. πŸ™‚ Not for the weed, but because Colorado > California, and Boulder >> Davis.

      There surely are religious objections being voiced from some quarters, but I have read pro-legalization opinions written by members of the clergy and informed laymen.

      It’s nice to see evidence that you haven’t died of Valley Fever yet!

      Reply
  6. whyzat

    This post made for an interesting conversation. On old Xanga, I’m sure at least one person would have told you you’re going to hell; but our expat community is pretty mellow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

