Decision.

The decision is made: I’m going to be serving fast southwestern breakfasts out of the Chinese takeout joint. We haven’t discussed the money in detail, but will one day soon. I have a feeling it’s going to be a profit split just because Johnny doesn’t care one way or the other — I tell him, “Whatever works for you” and he replies “Whatever you want. It’s up to you”. ๐Ÿ˜€

I put together a batch of Buzzard Wings to run down to the takeout joint so Johnny and his daughter (whose name has escaped me) could try them. It was in the lull between lunch and dinner, but they still had some customers so his daughter was running back and forth between the takeout window and the cash register and didn’t want to get caught chewing at the window so waited for a break in the action to try her first wing. When finally caught a break she explained, “He doesn’t like other people’s cooking”, to explain why her father wasn’t eating any. Amethyst told her, “He’s already had three”, and she looked shocked. Then she had her first bite and it was written in her eyes that she loved it.ย Then Johnny came back around when he was done cooking and had some more. ๐Ÿ™‚ Though it’s a breakfast menu, I’m pretty sure that Buzzard Wings will be on it.

The rest of the menu is still up for grabs, and something that requires a bit more think time on my part. It’s a small kitchen with no oven or broiler, just a single two-basket fryer and a wok range along with the requisite rice cookers and refrigerated table. The fryer could be a problem, though, as it sees egg rolls and wontons so is fouled for potatoes that would pick up the flavors of those other foods. On the other hand, I could conceivably park my 10 quart fryer over a wok burner, as long as I’m careful to keep an eye on the temperature. I already do that when it’s parked on my King Kooker and I’m doing a dozen other things, but a moment of neglect could become a disaster. More think time is required.

Johnny’s also talking about parking a barbecue outside in the summer time, which could be a kick. I could probably make time to run that on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays, and park my King Kooker alongside for chili and Buzzard Wings. Throw in some cole slaw and potato salad alongside ribs and brisket and it’d be a thing. Or I could go a little crazier, turn the heat up higher, and do carne asada and roasted corn, maybe even homemade tortillas. Who knows?

The thinking is that as long as it all happens such that it doesn’t interfere with the business I’ve got we can just park the profits until there’s enough to break out on my/our own. The marketing, as I’ve already said, would be dirt simple because we’re in a dinky town and all we have to do is make a little bit of noise and then provide great food. There’s a joke here, as there is in any other dinky town, that if you have a flat tire at one end of town you haven’t got it changed yet before the story of the three care pileup is being told at the other end of town. And the best part: Once my reputation is established I’ll be followed when I break out on my own. It’s always a buzz when a new restaurant opens anyway.

I’m seriously fucking geeked over this.

7 thoughts on “Decision.

  1. axiomatika

    i will come over one day and have them buzzard wings

    good luck! i’m rooting for you

    so what happens to your day job?

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      When you make it to the Western Slope, the wings are on the house!

      To keep the risk minimized I’m going to bend tacos only to the extent that it doesn’t greatly impact my programming gig, and only leave the programming biz if/when it’s safe enough to do so. But what’s safe and what’s not these days? Anyway, even if things go fantastically well I’ll be a couple or three, maybe four years doing the breakfasts and barbecues thing.

      Reply
  2. whyzat

    That’s great! I can’t wait to hear how it goes. Do you make good potato salad? There are so many recipes and styles out there. I’m not keen on mayo, so I make the kind that has an oil and vinegar dressing. Lots of mustard in it, too. Yum.
    I hope it all works out for you and that you get to sling tacos and a bunch of deep fried stuff to your heart’s content.
    Is there a leave in thermometer you can get for your frier? I’ve seen ones for meat that has a probe you leave in the meat and a separate controller.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Well… potato salad is funny. It seems that there are those who’ll eat anything that looks like potato salad, and there are others for whom there is only One True Potato Salad. My not-so-secret is to use my homemade mayo which has won over many who otherwise don’t like mayonnaise.

      I’ve got a fryer thermometer that is a big pain in the ass because it gets in the way of moving the basket in and out, so I’ll end up buying a digital remote fryer thermometer with just a probe hanging on the side of the thing. The trick is finding one that doesn’t have a housing for the display or wireless transmitter on the top to be in the way. I’ve got the remote thermometer for meats, a slick dual probe unit that I use often.

      Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Rotting. ๐Ÿ˜€ Nice!

      It is cool to see a path to make the transition with no significant risk and lots of jumping out points. I was somewhat surprised to see it, but I’m not one to shoot opportunity for trespassing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

