DON’T USE MY CORNBREAD RECIPE!

At any rate, don’t use it if you copied the one I posted yesterday because I screwed up the transcription. I put one tablespoon of salt where it should have been one tablespoon of sugar and one teaspoon of salt. I got ahead of myself… Big thanks and even bigger apologies to whyzat who caught my mistake by following the recipe as it was written. I feel like such a putz.

The weather nerds say it’s supposed to reach 24°F tomorrow. But they didn’t say that it wouldn’t rise above zero yesterday or today so I’m not holding out much hope for the accuracy of their predictions. Their forecast for tonight is -7°F but at quarter of ten it’s already -6°F. They also say that it’s going to start snowing again after midnight, and leave us with six inches or less of new accumulation by Monday morning.

Looking forward to more cold weather I’ve put some beans in to soak, and will make chili beans tomorrow. I’ll either reheat the leftover cornbread or make some fresh corn tortillas to go with it. Oh! I ordered a wooden tortilla press this afternoon! I really hope it makes thinner tortillas than the one I’ve got. And: Oh! I also ordered this way cool wonder widget, two of ’em:

Just because. We greatly enjoy the time we spend together making tamales, but this way we can make more! Amethyst is talking about preparing (me preparing) a few different fillings so we can knock out a massive pile of tamales in one day to load up the freezer. She likes coming up with things for me to cook. 🙂

6 thoughts on “DON’T USE MY CORNBREAD RECIPE!

  1. sojournable

    That tool looks like it would seriously be worth it. Kind of looks like a paint edger. Hey, I bet you could use a spackling knife for that matter.

    It’s been a cold season so far. I love snow. I always say, if it’s got to be cold, it might as well snow and be pretty. Actually, the snow is less dreary, too, reflecting the light back up at us. Love that.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      I don’t think something like a putty knife would work so well, not that I’ve ever tried it. Our technique has been a variant of what’s often done with banana leaves in those parts of Latin America where they’re common: Drop a dollop of masa on the husk, put a piece cut out of a freezer bag (stand-in for the banana leaf) over it, and smoosh it out with the heel of the hand. It works better than using a spoon, but it’s nowhere near as fast as the spreader widget in the hands of the woman who invented it. Whether or not it’s that fast for me remains to be seen.

      14F just now! We received only about a half inch of new snow, but there’s plenty of time left for the storm to develop. Or not… 😀 I love snow, too. It pretties things up and makes the world quieter.

      Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      🙂 Be sure to use the updated recipe! 😀 I hope you enjoy it when you give it a try.

      I almost can’t believe that I made such a boneheaded blunder as that, and while stone sober without having had any kind of intoxicant in weeks.

      Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      🙂 I’ve only had tamales wrapped in banana leaves once. They were tasty, but I don’t know how much of that the banana leaves were responsible for. And they were kind of weird to my way of thinking in that the masa and the other stuff were mixed together, rather than being filling encased in masa. But they were good.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

