Creamed Corn Cornbread (Corrected Typo)

Since some of you fine folks who drop by are gluten free, and just because it’s the best damned cornbread you’re ever going to eat anyway, here I present to you my creamed corn cornbread, a recipe I’ve been using for about 25 years now:

[ CORRECTED RECIPE: ]

  • 2 cups cornmeal
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup cream-style corn
  • ½ cup diced roasted green chiles
  • 4 (or so) strips bacon

Grab your handy dandy 10″ cast iron skillet, lay the bacon into it, and put it in the oven. Crank the oven up to 425°F (220°C). Yes, start with a cold oven.

Combine the dry ingredients, and separately combine the wet. When the oven cycles off because it’s reached full temperature, add the dry ingredients to the wet and stir to combine. If the batter is a bit too thick to pour, add more buttermilk. Then remove the skillet from the oven, pour the batter in, and return the skillet to the oven.

Bake for about 20 minutes, until golden brown and springy. I suppose that a wooden pick inserted into the middle should come out dry, but I never test it that way. Then slice as you would a pie.

It’s more crumbly than the traditional cornbread made with wheat flour in addition to cornmeal, but it’s far superior to that stuff. And it’s got bacon stuck to the bottom of it!

If you’re not into bacon, you can just preheat the skillet and then grease it with vegetable shortening or whatever it is that pansies use for grease these days. 😀

7 thoughts on “Creamed Corn Cornbread (Corrected Typo)

    1. happierheathen Post author

      You’re welcome! If you try it, I hope you like it. The first really good part is the sizzle of the batter when it hits the grease, which turns on the hunger switch and whatever else you associate with the aroma and sound of bacon frying. Hopefully good things. 🙂

      Reply
  1. whyzat

    Oh boy, bacon-crusted cornbread! I can almost smell it! Someday, I’m going to get a cast iron frying pan. I wonder if my enameled cast iron pans would work as well? Hmm, they should. I’ve wanted to make corbread that way for a long time, but didn’t think I had the right pan. Duh, me!

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      I’ve never used enameled cast iron for anything, but the important part being the thermal mass of it I don’t see why it wouldn’t work just fine. So get to it! 😀

      Reply
  2. whyzat

    Hey, is that tablespoon of salt a typo? It sounded like a lot so I didn’t put quite that much in, but I still ended up with something that tasted like I used seawater in it!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Creamed Corncakes | Cooking Is My Sport

Leave a Reply

