End Of The Long Thanksgiving Weekend

I’m sad to see the weekend drawing to a close. I could stand another couple of days of downtime just because it’s been so darn nice that I hate to see it end. Once we were good and lax we redoubled our lack of effort and relaxed. If we’d become any more lax we might have slipped into comas. And we’ve slept very soundly, too, being tuckered out from so much doing of nothing.

Though the grandkids were unable to be here we had a fine time, just the two of us. Our nice, all natural, Colorado raised turkey died for a good cause and was, and is, much appreciated. It’s nice to have a bird that’s not got to be pumped full of salt, broth, and whatever else it is they pump the poor bastards full of just to have some flavor. Amethyst’s stuffing from her grandmother’s recipe was excellent, and for the first time she says it came out just like her grandmother used to make. The rolls I made sucked, somehow managed to develop no flavor at all despite the fact that the dough that went into the oven spent the night in the refrigerator and several hours out in the kitchen air warming and fermenting. The rise was normal, the gluten well developed, the crumb good, but they tasted like flour and salt and nothing more. I’m blaming the yeast just because I don’t know what else to blame and I’m not taking the blame for myself. My pumpkin pies, though, came out just as well as they always do and so made up for the disappointing rolls.

Speaking of bread, the latest sourdough starter seems to be a good one. I’ve declared it ready for baking and have got the first sponge going to become tomorrow’s loaf. The aroma is nicely sour for this stage (though not sour enough for a mature starter), and my hope is that it’ll continue to improve over the coming months as my last really good starter did. The starter I was using until a couple of months ago never did develop that characteristic sourdough taste, though it did make some darn nice loaves. It also was unable to resist whatever it was that invaded and gave the bread a distinct dry popcorn flavor. I have high hopes for the current batch, and if my hopes are realized I could be using this starter for the rest of my time on Earth.

The weather gods are predicting our first serious cold snap, with tomorrow being the last day in the ten day forecast with a high temperature above freezing, and with the overnight lows of Wednesday and Thursday being -11F and -12F, respectively. Just like December, by golly, we’re supposed to see something like significant snowfall on Tuesday and Wednesday, and depending upon whom you ask, on Thursday as well. So far we’re at nearly 120% of normal for this time of year, and the graphs so far are tracking the 2011 Weather Year which was well above normal. We weren’t here for that winter (2010/2011) but we heard all about it — the weather year started out right on the averages, then about a week before Christmas the snow came on like the start of a new ice age and the summer was very rainy until just before we got back. But then the graphs were tracking the 2011 weather year two years ago, until just about this time, and then winter just kind of petered out and was unusually dry, as was last year. Dry enough to convince Las Vegas that they needed to drop a third intake pipe into Lake Mead because one of the existing two was looking awfully likely to be above water line soon.

Flush twice. Las Vegas needs the water! 😀 No, I never will tire of saying that.

And that’s just about all the news there is from here in Dinkytown.

10 thoughts on “End Of The Long Thanksgiving Weekend

  1. axiomatika

    glad you had a nice holiday. it would be nice to have a few more days. i am gonna miss just everyone hanging out

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      It was a surprise to find such a fine bird available here in Dinkytown, not juiced up and judging by the build of it, not a Broad Breasted White (breed). Once I saw the body shape I decided to give it nothing more than a light salt rub the night before to see what would come of it. It was superb!

      Reply
      1. erikamsteele

        I think I am so used to seeing broad breasted turkeys that I would not recognize a regular turkey anymore. Chickens are easy to recognize because they sell both everywhere. You know meat is good if it only needs salt. I distinctly remember my mom showing me how to make turkey when I was younger and using only salt and maybe some butter.

        Reply
        1. happierheathen Post author

          It’s crazy how hard it is to find an heirloom turkey any more. I’m tempted to raise some, maybe Bourbons or Blue Slates.

          Most of the time I’ll separate the skin from the meat all around the breast and run some butter and herbs in the space between. It makes for a nice crispy skin and adds a nice touch to the meat, too. Is that how your mom does it?

          Reply
          1. erikamsteele

            Yes. That’s how she does it now. She didn’t used to do it that way. It’s also they way I do it. The landlords might notice turkeys running around so I’ll have to wait until I own my own land or get some and put them at my parents’ farm and tell them I have no clue where they came from.

            Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Nope, no shopping for us. We’re not consumers in the modern meaning of the term. Our daughter goes in for that, sets out with a crew and a battle plan all drawn up in advance including who’s going to seek which items, but we think she’s insane. She apparently inherited her grandparents’ generation skipping shopping genes.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

