I Didn’t Voted!

Another election day, another abstention on my part. I’m rarely drunk enough on a Tuesday to play charades but on those rare occasions when I am drunk enough to play charades I’m still smart enough not to go driving, to the polling place or anywhere else.

The only things of importance on the ballot are some tax increases for education and some tax increase on marijuana part of which will also go toward education. One of the education-specific tax increases is a statewide thing so will be determined by the voters of the Front Range anyway, and the other education-specific increase will be decided by the folks here in the county who always vote the opposite of me on everything. We live in a town where the majority thinks that the Tea Party is too liberal. The marijuana tax increase will also be determined by the voters on the Front Range. “Every vote counts!”, they say, but mine never does.

I catch shit about that from some people I know who believe that it’s vitally important for us all to be involved and engaged, vote in every election, be moderately activist, and so on. If I haven’t got around to discarding that file folder, I’ve got every letter I’ve sent to legislators and every response I’ve ever received. Most letters never received responses, most that did brought me a form letter, but a couple of them actually got some personal responses from the legislators in question — politely explaining that I am ill informed and one of naive or stupid. Meaning that my elected misrepresentatives couldn’t care less what I think and don’t believe that I’m even qualified to do my own thinking.

It’s been all downhill since I voted for Carter in 1980, and ended badly when I voted for Gore 20 years later. I was never really an Al Gore fan, but the thought of another Shrub in the Awful Orifice scared hell out of me. Good thing my fears were proven unfounded, eh?

 

😀

13 thoughts on “I Didn’t Voted!

    1. happierheathen Post author

      Your town might just be more conservative, but it surely can’t be by much. Overall Colorado leans progressive most of the time, but Dinkytown is a black hole of ignorance. The people are nice enough, but they are very much enamored of the fantasies that the ultra-conservatives feed them.

      Reply
  1. asexatheani

    I plan on voting Green Party next year. As Debs said, “it’s better to vote for what you want and not get it than to vote for what you don’t want and get it.”

    Reply
  2. axiomatika

    We live in a town where the majority thinks that the Tea Party is too liberal.

    hot damn holy fuck. run heathen run!

    how do you stand it?

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      We don’t discuss anything that might have even a political undercurrent to it unless we know in advance that all participants are misfits like us. One of my friends and I, when we meet on the street, cast feigned furtive glances around and then greet each other with, “Greetings, Comrade”. 😀

      Every now and then when someone starts a political topic, I’ll find a way to sneak in a statement that is too logical and irrefutable to be disputed. That’s always fun. The eyes always show that the wheels are spinning but not gaining traction… And I hope that maybe an attitude will be softened. It probably doesn’t happen, but it seems worth a shot.

      Reply
  3. ordinarybutloud

    I vote. I always vote. I get the cynicism, but I still vote. Maybe it’s like…I don’t know…I can’t even formulate a good simile. I vote.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Is it cynicism or just acceptance of a persistent unpleasant reality? I prefer to think it’s the latter. I have no idea how one might distinguish between the two. It just seems to me that we’re all ensnared by a system that has been designed for self preservation at all costs and views us all as its enemy.

      Reply
  4. g.

    Did you manage to catch any of Russell Brand’s rant on voting? He defended it quite rationally, saying voting was tacit approval of a system that, no matter who you voted for, would never give a shit about you or what you wanted or thought. He suggested the only way to change anything was for everyone to stop voting, so it was obvious the “democracy” was a sham.
    I don’t know how it works in the States, but here we have the option to “decline” ballots. “Spoiled” ballots are thrown out (they count them as “errors”), so if you want to protest a lack of choice in candidates, you have to register and show up and, when they hand you your ballot, you pass it back to them and say, “I decline to vote.” Then they have to count it as a choice (rather than an error).
    Sadly, they don’t advertise this information and people have to ferret it out for themselves. (Mostly they don’t.)
    g.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      I have no idea who Russell Brand is, but I just found his rant on rubetube. I agree with the principles he espoused, wholeheartedly.

      Amethyst and I just had a conversation a few hours ago: The US, unlike more liberal or social or whatever you want to call it democracies, does not have anything like a “no confidence” vote, or declined ballots as you speak of — the first I’ve ever heard of ’em, actually. We really do need the vote of no confidence so we can chuck out a whole lot at once rather than recalling or impeaching one clown at a time. Without such a mechanism, it’s not democracy. It’s just the facade of democracy.

      Thanks for sharing such an insightful comment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

