There’s A Food Question At The End.

It’s no secret that I love snow, the challenge that wintry weather brings, and prevailing over those challenges. I swear, were another ice age to occur and fill the Rocky Mountain valleys with glaciers, I’d be the resident of the house at the bottom of a deep man made ice cavern whose dimensions are those of our fence lines, with perfectly straight, square and plumb sides and a boot scraper at the top. The boot scraper would be Amethyst’s idea.

It’s 27 degrees (Fahrenheit) out and snowing like mad just now. At this time of year when Fall brings the first snows the meals I prepare are predominately Southwestern and Mexican because I crave the deep body warmth the chiles bring. A blast of my homemade fermented hot sauce is every bit as effective as a blast of whiskey for knocking off a to-the-bone chill, I’ve found. And, like whiskey, it has the down side of being a bad idea if you’ve got to go back out into the cold, and for the same reason. Not that I’ve anything against whiskey other than the number of dollars I must part with in the acquisition of it. πŸ˜‰

Thinking on that a bit ago as my mind wandered as it so often does while just stirring a steaming pot, I found it amusing as hell that today in Colorado it’s legal to grow marijuana for your own use and even to give freely away, but a felony to distill liquor for your own use without a license that plain old ordinary everyday citizens have no hope of acquiring.Β 

If there’s one thing we humans are good at, it’s nonsense. Hell, I’d turn pro except I still want my shot in the Olympics.

Stupid me, I just proved that it is unwise to go out into the snow after eating spicy hot food. Toldja I was good at nonsense!

There’s a chance that we’ll be seeing one of our piles of grandkids here for Thanksgiving, and I had the brilliant idea of cooking up a freezer full of tamales for dinner the day after. It’d be quick ‘n’ easy to get a dinner on the table that day… BUT the momma unit of the group says she gets heartburn from spicy food. Not that I make my tamales all that spicy, as I’d prefer to let everyone decide how much heat to apply so put sauces out instead of lots of heat in. Still, there’s no reason to risk it. So now I guess I’ll ask everyone here: What do you think might be super tasty that I can prepare at least a couple of days in advance that might be a hit with little ones aged three to 15, their mother who doesn’t do spicy food, and also Amethyst and I who don’t even like to enter a home in which commercially prepared foods are the norm?

Many thanks in advance for any ideas you might have to share!

11 thoughts on “There’s A Food Question At The End.

    1. happierheathen Post author

      That’s a good idea! πŸ™‚ I could get a couple or three all ready to go and freeze them, make some bread for garlic bread on Wednesday, and on Friday have only to finish the garlic bread and throw together a salad. The grandkids love my pizza, too, so there’s no guessing there.

      Reply
  1. g.

    Ah, the pizza’s a great idea–and you could do a couple of versions: something kid-friendly (pepperoni and mozza) plus something fancier for the grownups. A local shop here makes one with marinated beef, carmelized onions, roasted peppers and feta cheese. IT IS ABSURDLY GOOD.
    g.

    Reply
  2. whyzat

    Pizza sounds like a good idea. When I need to cook ahead, I like to make a pan of lasagna. It’s hot, cheesy, hearty and filling. I have some in the freezer now. Scalloped potatoes with ham is a good one, though maybe not filling enough. It’s what I will probably make for Thanksgiving.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Lasagna is also a grand idea. I’ll keep it in mind, as I’ve never thought to freeze any. Our eldest granddaughter, though, would likely not eat it as she’s only ever seen that boxed crap before and hates it. She’s very picky, which is okay with me, but when she gets something else (as I won’t make a child go hungry) the middle granddaughter then wants both what everyone else is having and what her sister is having, then finishes neither, or only the one she likes better. It makes her grandmother crazy.

      Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      I appreciate the nomination. Thanks! I might get around to selecting ten more victims of it and all of that, if the day doesn’t blow up on me again.

      And I’ll try to keep warm, too. We’ve just bottomed out for the morning, I think, at five degrees. Brrr. I’m staying indoors for now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

