Day Of The Nacho

Today is the International Day Of The Nacho. With that knowledge your life today is complete, and you can celebrate with crunchy cheesy goodness because dammit, you deserve it!

I, of course, will make nachos this evening. I might even drop them alongside some tamales, because Amethyst has become a serious tamale head. We made more than four dozen pork tamales last weekend, 42 beef tamales yesterday, and at Amethyst’s request we’re going to be making chicken tamales this Sunday. The woman’s gone tamale mad, I think. I don’t mind, and I enjoy sitting with her to wrap tamales. She worries that she’s getting the wrong side of the corn husk turned inward, and I reassure her that even if she does the end result will still be a tamale and there’s nothing wrong with eating the mistakes. 🙂

Oh: If you decide to celebrate International Day Of The Nacho, please try not to use “processed cheese food”. Live like you want to live, of course, but I think you deserve better than that.

Be well, friends and neighbors!

11 thoughts on “Day Of The Nacho

  1. ordinarybutloud

    i didn’t know there was a wrong side of the corn husk. damn. also, who would put “processed cheese spread” on nachos????

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      One side of the husk (the former inside) is a teeny bit waxy, while the other side has a rougher texture. Get ’em backward and the tamale won’t release from the husk. Foodie trivia. Just in case you ever find yourself wrapping tamales. 🙂

      I believe that those who would use “pasteurized process cheese food” on nachos are still known as white trash. The last time I had such a thing put in front if me, it was white trash who put it there, anyway. Oh, and that’s how they sell them at the convenience store two miles outside of town, too, come to think of it. They’ve got some kind of a heated pump contraption, like a monstrous ketchup dispenser, that shits orange goo all over little round chips in a red and white checked paper container.

      Reply
      1. ordinarybutloud

        DISGUSTING. I can’t eat that stuff. I’m a snob. Have I mentioned that?? It probably comes through. It is one of my ambitions to wrap tamales but we haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’m guessing you want to wrap them with the waxy part inside. Do you eat the corn??

        Reply
        1. happierheathen Post author

          I can relate. I don’t eat that stuff, either. Amethyst won’t even allow it into the house!

          Yes indeed, waxy side in. Eat the corn? Typically, you’d buy a bag of dried corn husks, then soak them for ten minutes or more in warm water to make them pliable — so there’s no corn in ’em. At least not until you add the masa, anyway.

          Damn, now I’m hungry for a tamale.

          Reply
  2. whyzat

    Mmmm, bean, cheese and beef nachos and a glass of Modelo Especial at my fave TexMex place sounds good! I also like potato skins with all that stuff on them, too!
    What do you do with all the tamales? Can you freeze them or do they just get eaten before that can happen!?

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Yep! One of the things I like about them is their origin: A guy named Nacho had to put something together for some patrons who showed up late at his restaurant, so he brainstormed the dish on the fly. That’s one of my favorite things to do, looking around at what I’ve got and figuring out what to do with it.

      Reply
  3. g.

    “Live like you want to live, of course, but I think you deserve better than that.” This may be the best response I have ever heard to the dubious actions of others. I’m putting it in my conversational pocket.
    g.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

