The Streak Ended

Yesterday, or more accurately the day before (as it’s nearly 2AM), my streak of four years, seven months, and 15 days ended. I received an email message from Mommie Dearest — so it took her more than four and a half years to figure out how to sneak around my firewall by creating a free (Gmail, in this case) email address. An address that is now blocked at my mail server, of course.

When I saw her name in my email inbox my first reaction was “Howdafuq?”. All other email messages she’s tried to send have bounced harmlessly off of my mail server. It’s good to be a geek. πŸ™‚ Then I looked at the rest and saw that she’s got a new Gmail account. Mystery solved. No worries. That one’s blocked now too.

Her excuse for making contact was pretty damned weak so naturally I saw through it right away. Looking at the message headers reminded me of what day it was: Her 78th birthday. Mortality calling, says it’s urgent. I was half tempted to respond and vent my spleen, but the wiser part of me knows that any response would be taken as a partial victory and an open door to stick a foot into. Like Global Thermonuclear War (from the movie War Games, and also in real life thermonuclear war): “A strange game. The only winning move is not to play”.

I wish I’d had good sense enough to abandon my family of origin long before I did. Life is good now that they don’t matter. One streak has ended, but the most important one continues. πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “The Streak Ended

  1. cocosangel

    I had my mother call me several times. And I didn’t know who it was, and I take it, and after a few words, I would end up only creating that war, for her to grind. Oh she always had a purpose, and knew how to get me riled up in it.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Wow, that sucks. 😦

      I had a similar thing happen with someone else I didn’t want to talk to. Someone I trusted placed the call, then handed the phone over — thus decimating the trust.

      Reply
  2. asexatheani

    Thankfully I’ve got a good mom and a great family on my mom’s side. My dad’s side…well, you know how I feel about my father, and I honestly just don’t talk with the rest. I’ve one of my sister’s friends on my dad’s side friended on facebook, but she hasn’t tried to talk to me otherwise.

    *shrug* Whadya gonna do? You’ve got a great family of your own now, and that’s all that matters.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Whaddami gonna do? I’m gonna continue living my happy life that I worked so hard to make for myself. πŸ™‚

      I hope your college career is everything you’d hoped it would be.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

