Amethyst Shocks

We didn’t go to the Big Town of 60,000 people today. Instead we went to a town that’s about five times bigger than Dinkytown, with almost 10,000 people in it. It’s 30 miles closer and there’s a lot less elevation change to get there, and it has big stores where they have lots of stuff so were likely to have the stuff we needed.

While there, one of our stops was Pier1 Imports. Which had some stuff we needed. Also some Chinese soup spoons for just 75 cents a pop. As we were checking out, or trying to check out anyway, one of the sales chickies, all of about 25 years old, put the sell on Amethyst. She was pushing some UNICEF Christmas cards. After agreeing that the cards were cute, when the sell continued, Amethyst casually said, “I don’t send Christian holiday cards”. Twenty-something sales chickie put the box of cards back on the display, and without another word, skedaddled out of there. She was completely out of sight within five seconds.

Then we returned home and I made some carne asada tacos. πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Amethyst Shocks

  1. solberg73

    Hmm. I have some conflicted strategies for such occasions. I think I have an obligation to avoid raining on the believer crowd’s parades. Yeah, despite the Inquisition, the Intifadas, and our own Israeli home-grown, though far milder, indoctrinationSo .I do my best walk on the other side of the street.
    But I’m sure your Jewel said what she did with acumen and tact, though, and the sales girl does need to learn at some point that not everyone bought the same Koolaide.
    I do want to share a priceless (in my book) quick story.
    Someone angrily told an atheist friend of mine “Yes, but Atheism is itself a Religion!”
    He paused just one second and replied:
    “Sure it is, just like ‘not collecting stamps’ is a ‘hobby’!”
    I LOVED IT.

    Reply
    1. ordinarybutloud

      HAHAHAHAHAHA “not collecting stamps” is a hobby!!!!! That’s been one of my hobbies for a long time. Actually, now that you mention it, I have a LOT of hobbies. Not collecting Precious Moments figurines, not shopping, not hunting, not watching football. Not entertaining. Holy moly. It’s a long list, my list of hobbies.

      Reply
    2. happierheathen Post author

      Well, shucks. I don’t know how tactful it was, but it was very effective. We’re simple mountain folk who find that hard sell thing very disrespectful. We understand that the chickie’s continued employment depends upon ringing up a certain percentage of sales with those cards included, and we sympathize. But to us the hard sell means, “I’m smiling, but I don’t have a fraction of a fuck to give about anything about you that isn’t your money”. There’s got to be more to humanity than heartless commerce.

      I love that line about atheism being a religion as not collecting stamps is a hobby.

      Reply
  2. solberg73

    This site desperately needs, among many other things, like a blinking cursor here, an EDIT function for commenters. WHO DIED AND TOLD THESE CHILDREN THEY WERE PROGRAMMERS?

    Reply
  3. ordinarybutloud

    I love to send out cards at the holiday season. I don’t know why I love it so much. I just like sending a picture of my kids to 150 people I still love and occasionally remember but seldom call or see. There’s no good rationale behind it. They’re “happy holidays” cards, which is so fake and annoying, because if you’re not celebrating Christmas, it’s not the “holidays” for you. But then again, for families with kids, it’s a “holiday” from school whatever your background, so they all know what I mean. In return I usually get 150 pictures of other people’s kids and you know what I do with them? I buy cheap little albums and put them all in it so I can flip through sometimes and remember their names and their ages and see how much they’ve grown. It’s odd. It’s oddly out of character for me, but I love it.

    Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Sure it’s a holiday for us. Amethyst celebrates Yule in her pagan way, and I celebrate the solstice in my pantheist way, a few days before the rest do their Xmas thing. Jesus was not born in winter anyway — early Christians “culturally appropriated” the solstice holiday, if I might borrow a term from the downtrodden complainers. We even decorate a tree we’ve just sentenced to death, which is a sin in the Christian bible and a pagan tradition. So who’s faking? Is it the folks whose traditions predate Jesus, or those who have learned the ways of the heathens and adopted their customs of vanity as their god prohibited in Jeremiah 10:2?

      Just thought I’d throw that out there. You can perceive non-Christian traditions as fake and annoying if you’d like and it’s all the same to me. We can still be friends.

      Reply
      1. ordinarybutloud

        Oh, no, did I say that?? I didn’t mean to suggest that non-Christian traditions are fake and annoying. I find all tradition regardless of source to be fake and annoying. I’m Grinchy that way, to make a secular Christian reference. If it were up to me we wouldn’t bother with decorations and we would only celebrate New Year’s Eve, which for me is basically a celebration of starting a perky new blank calendar, with unfilled boxes and endless possibilities. It’s purely a celebration of the Gregorian Calendar and my slavishness to it. I don’t even really like birthdays too much, but I put up with them.

        Reply
        1. happierheathen Post author

          Someone said it. πŸ˜‰ No worries.

          Our solstice celebrations are pretty much as you describe your New Year celebration, with the primary difference being that the Gregorian calendar doesn’t align with the celestial. We don’t make a Really Big Deal about it, and don’t do nearly as much gift giving as most, but most anyone who’d care to spend the evening with us can join in our feast, and drink some wine, and put up with our general foolishness. The daylight is short, the darkness long, so it must be a day made for partying. πŸ™‚

          Or the result of axial tilt. πŸ˜€

          Reply
  4. digitalgranny

    When I get a sales clerk who has the attitude of a used car salesman I usually walk out. Sounds like you got some good deals.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

