Space Oddities

Just a few minutes ago as I was taking the garbage can to the street I looked up into the sky and thought, “That’s way too bright for Saturn!”.

Image

A few second later, “And it’s moving way too fast, too!”. The quality of the light clearly suggested that it was a satellite rather than an aircraft, so I whipped out my trusty Android phone and cranked up the Space Junk app…

Image

 

Yep, the International Space Station. Probably the most expensive object ever created by man, and the biggest man-made object in space. When I spot it I always wonder for a bit about the fact that there are people inside, and end up hearing David Bowie’s Space Oddity in my head. Some cosmonaut once said something to the effect that cramping people together in a space station satisfies all of the preconditions for murder.

I like keeping my feet right here on my mountain, thank you verrah much.

 

2 thoughts on “Space Oddities

  1. g.

    “cramping people together in a space station satisfies all of the preconditions for murder”
    Indeed. I can’t imagine ever getting on that thing except as some sort of last resort. Same goes for taking elevators into mine shafts or submarines under the ocean. Wherever I go, I prefer to have a reasonable expectation of leaving at my own discretion.
    g.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

