Home Again, Home Again, Jiggity Jig

We’ve just arrived back home again, and all is well. Amethyst’s surgery went very well, her recovery was without complication (unlike last time), and she’s feeling great and more relaxed than she’s been in years. And as a result so am I.

The doc tells me that after frying an even dozen spots she then tested the outcome by attempting to trigger the tachycardia every five seconds for an hour — that’s 720 times if you’re not the sort who automatically calculates products on the fly. 🙂 Not even one of those 720 tries resulted in any kind of arrhythmia. The doc says she’s never had to go back a third time, and I didn’t have the heart to point out that there’s potentially a great difference between her not going back a third time and her patients not going back a third time.

Which is not to suggest that I have anything shy of the utmost confidence in the doc. She reminds me quite a lot of the really great electrical engineers I’ve known and respected, folks who know their stuff inside out, upside down, and backwards, but who are not necessarily so skillful in social interaction. I mean, this is the same doc who referred to her plan as “saturation bombing”, which seems likely to be an unwelcome term for most who are not of similar mind. Me? I was not bothered, but I did find it remarkable because it’s amusing.

Speaking of which: As we were cruising up the two-lane that brings us back to Dinkytown we had to traverse a construction zone in which the stuff that used to be asphalt highway is just road bed and detritus now, complete with washboard and chuckholes. I did my best to avoid the really huge irregularities, since the greatest risk at this point would be the insertion points in the femorial artery bleeding — were that to happen, Amethyst would be within minutes of dead because the femoral artery is enormous and will not clot on its own. I hit an unavoidable hole in the road which made her wince, and I asked, “You okay?”. Her response: “Let me put my hand down my pants and find out”.

So we now have a new private joke that’s sure to get a lot of play. “How ya doin’?”. “Let me put my hand down my pants and find out”. 😀

8 thoughts on “Home Again, Home Again, Jiggity Jig

    1. happierheathen Post author

      We have about a dozen private jokes that get hauled out pretty regularly… People are convinced that we are strange. Because we’ve worked so hard at making it so. 🙂

      Reply
    1. happierheathen Post author

      Humorous coincidence: Swimming is one of the few things on her restrictions list. No getting the area around the punctured femoral artery wet. That and no heavy lifting. 🙂

      Reply
  1. distractedbyzombies

    hahahahahahaha! re your new in joke. really glad you guys are back and everything went well. nicely done, all of you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

